LibGuides: SANDBOX for Middle School Library: Student Research

Database PASSWORDS

LOGINS & PASSWORDS

Click Here for the Passwords List. You'll need to log in as a Catlin Gabel student or employee. Having trouble? Contact your division librarian.

What are databases?

Recommended Databases for Middle School Students

Need some ideas for writing better searches?
Talk to Lynn about suggestions and strategies.

CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Use the drop-down menu on the right side of the screen to select a country. The data includes detailed information about the government, education, health, economics, religions, and political climate of each nation.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search several big Gale databases simultaneously.
Gale in Context: US History This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from published reference books, journal and magazine articles, biographies, and news stories on US History topics.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Access to 9000+ ebooks for research in economics, literature, history, and other subects. You can download, email, print or play MP3 files of the chapters of these ebooks.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Good source of information on a range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more. Access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, and multimedia.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Fantastic access to hundreds of regional, national, and international newspapers in full-text. Formerly known as Infotrac Newsstand.
Learn360 This link opens in a new window
Contains text, audio, video, maps, science diagrams, encyclopedia articles, and other resources on a broad range of topics. A good starting point for getting familiar with your topic.
NoveList Plus (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
A wonderful source of book reviews and author information for avid readers! Use this database to find out the sequence of titles published by an author, read reviews of an author's fiction or nonfiction works, and locate other authors with similar writing styles or plot elements.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Good source of full-text magazine articles, book entries, and videos on controversial topics. Can be useful in establishing your position in a debate, or developing an opposing point of view.
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
A multi-subject database good for middle school students. Browse by broad topics such cultures, geography, government, literature, people, science, social issues and US or world history, or specific topic. Also allows for basic and complex searching.
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
A multi-subject database good for students. Browse by broad topics such world cultures, religion, geography, government, literature, the arts, biography, science, health, social issues, sports, and US or world history. Also allows for basic and complex searching.

Complete A-Z List of Databases

Citation and Bibliography Tools

NoodleTools
This tool allows you to track all of your research. You can create note cards, track your research question, organize your thinking, and create citations and bibliographies.