Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Science News Feeds
New York Times: Science Pages
Best Databases for General Science Research
Best Databases for Science Research
Not sure which ones to use? Ask your teacher, or Sue in the US Library.
Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
This multi-purpose database contains a large number of journal articles on biology, health, chemistry, physics, medicine, anatomy & physiology, and more.
Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
A rich source of journal articles on health care, anatomy & physiology, and medicine.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
A source of free STEM and biomedical journal articles. Many, but not all, are full-text.
Medline (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Access to a good number of journals on human health, genetics, anatomy & physiology, pathology, and veterinary medicine.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
A selection of about 400 full-text journals on human development, behavior, addiction, and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Medical journals database funded by the National Library of Medicine.
Semantic Scholar This link opens in a new window
This new database offers thousands of journal articles in the sciences. Many, but not all, are full-text.
Green File (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and government sources on sustainability, recycling, agriculture, renewable energy, and related topics.
GREENR This link opens in a new window
This database gathers academic articles, newspaper articles, podcasts, and other useful resources in a well-organized set of results. Good choice for research on the environment and sustainability.
ABI Inform Collection (MultCoLib) This link opens in a new window
Business-oriented database focusing on international business and trade. Can be useful in researching materials and practices marketed to scientists and healthcare professionals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A useful search engine for locating academic articles, although not all are available full-text. Try the Advanced Search.
Hindawi Publishing This link opens in a new window
Over 500 publicly searchable full-text journals, many in the health sciences. Requires no login or password
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Start here to create your yearlong pass to the full text of the New York Times. Once you enter your email address, the NY Times will send an email verification to your Catlin.edu email account. Confirm, and you are all set! Contains a strong Science section.
Newspaper Source (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Fantastic access to hundreds of regional, national, and international newspapers in full-text. Formerly known as Infotrac Newsstand.