Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Middle School Library: Author Visits

2020-21 Author Visit

Author Visits at Catlin Gabel Middle School

2020-2021 Karl Jonske '99 Memorial Fund Author, Rex Ogle

May 19th, 2021 9:00 AM on Zoom!

Photo by Rex Ogle

Rex Ogle was born and raised mostly in Texas. He received the 2020 YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award for his memoir Free Lunch.

About Rex Ogle

REX OGLE was born and raised (mostly) in Texas.  He moved to New York City after college to pursue an editorial career, interning at Marvel Comics before working at DC Comics, and later at Scholastic and Little Brown Young Readers.  He championed over a dozen NY Times Bestsellers on major brands such as X-MenJustice LeagueStar WarsLEGOPower RangersTransformers, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  But writing for himself was always the ultimate goal.  

He’s written under a lot of pen names, most notably Trey King, Honest Lee, and Rey Terceiro (which is just Español for “third king”, which is apt since Rex is Latin for “king”, and Rex is the third “Rex” in his family). Now, he lives in Los Angeles where he writes full-time—when he’s not outside hiking with his dog Toby, playing MarioKart with friends (and losing terribly), or reading.

2020-2021 School Year Author Visit

We, at Catlin Gabel Middle School, are excited host author Rex Ogle. Rex will present to the Middle School at Assembly on Wednesday, May 19th via Zoom. Rex's presentation will include stories from his award winning memoir, Free Lunch.

 

Publications by Rex Ogle

Free Lunch

Rex Ogle recounts his first semester in sixth grade in which he and his younger brother often went hungry, wore secondhand clothes, and were short of school supplies and he was on his school's free lunch program. Grounded in the immediacy of physical hunger and the humiliation of having to announce it every day in the school lunch line, Rex's is a compelling story of a more profound hunger -- that of a child for his parents' love and care.

Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy A Modern Graphic Retelling of Little Women

Little Women with a twist: four sisters from a blended family experience the challenges and triumphs of life in NYC in this beautiful full-color graphic novel perfect for fans of Roller Girl and Smile.

Blink- Online Serial Comic

Mia lives in the slums, she’s failing school, has no friends, and her parents are always fighting. Life just doesn’t seem worth living sometimes—until the day time slows and stops completely. Stuck in-between moments, Mia finds herself desperately alone and losing her sanity. Little does she know that something dark and ancient is stalking her, and will stop at nothing until it has her by the throat…

Aiden Tyler, Quaran-teen: A Weekly Webcast “Serial”

Aiden Tyler is your typical middle school student. Rides the bus. Likes comic books. Tolerates his sister. But, his life is about to be turned upside down by the Coronavirus. Yes, you heard that correctly. Aiden Tyler, Quaran-teen is a new and original middle-grade serial written and read in real time by author Rex Ogle (Free Lunch). That means as YOU experience things, Aiden will be experiencing them too. Rex shares Aiden's story that's full of laughs, facts, hearts, and farts.

Comics!

MS Librarian

Profile Photo
Dan Woytek
Contact:
Middle School Library (503) 284-1894 x3516