LibGuides: Upper School Library: Databases List

Database PASSWORDS

LOGINS & PASSWORDS

Click Here for the Passwords List. You'll need to log in as a Catlin Gabel student or employee. Having trouble? Contact your division librarian.

What are databases?

What's New

Do You Read the New York Times?

WE RECENTLY RENEWED OUR ACCESS TO THE NY TIMES. If you were previously registered, please click on the New York Times link below, and the Times should prompt you to reinstate your Educational Pass. New to register? Click on the New York Times link below, and follow the directions.

Databases

Many of these databases require a login and password. Use the link to the left for passwords.

Not sure which databases to use? Visit the Subject Guides or Class Guides, or ask your librarians.

ABI Inform Collection (MultCoLib) This link opens in a new window
A useful database for business and economic research.
Academic One File This link opens in a new window
This is a big, multipurpose database with dozens of history and economics journals.
Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
This is a multi-subject database with full-text articles on a wide range of subjects.
Biography in Context (MultCoLib) This link opens in a new window
Great source of brief, reliable biographies of authors, scientists, and public figures from high quality published sources. There are also links to journal articles and websites, but the search tends to vary in quality.
Requires Multnomah County Library card.
Biography Reference Bank (MultCoLib) This link opens in a new window
This is a very strong, solid resource for high quality biographies from published sources. It's easy to search, save, print or email results.
Requires Multnomah County Library card.
Business Source Premier (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Great source of country reports, business and economic information.
Computer Source (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from nearly 300 journals on computers, technology, and programming.
Ebook access This link opens in a new window
Log in to use full-text ebooks you find through the Catlin Gabel US Library catalog.
EBSCO Title Lists This link opens in a new window
Click here to find out which databases contain full-text articles from a particular journal title. Ex: Which database contains articles from Modern Fiction Studies? Do they have full-text articles from 2022?
ERIC (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of full-text articles relevant to educators.
Ethnic News Watch (MultCoLib) This link opens in a new window
Excellent sources of news from Native American, African American, Latino, and Asian American news sources.
Fuente Academica (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
A multi-subject database containing 450+ journals published in Latin America, Spain & Portugal. Results may be in Spanish, Portuguese, or English.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
A useful selection of full-text journal articles on film, visual arts, drama, and music.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search several big Gale databases simultaneously.
Gale in Context: US History This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from published reference books, journal and magazine articles, biographies, and news stories on US History topics.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Access to 9000+ ebooks for research in economics, literature, history, and other subects. You can download, email, print or play MP3 files of the chapters of these ebooks.
Glossary of Poetic Terms This link opens in a new window
Use this free resource to understand the meaning of an alexandrine or a zeugma. Definitions are accurate and clear. Website provided by the Poetry Foundation.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A useful search engine for locating some full-text scholarly articles on a range of topics.
Green File (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and government sources on sustainability, recycling, agriculture, renewable energy, and related topics.
Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
A rich source of journal articles on health care, anatomy & physiology, and medicine.
Hindawi Publishing This link opens in a new window
Over 500 publicly searchable full-text journals, many in the health sciences. Requires no login or password
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
Fantastic access to hundreds of regional, national, and international newspapers in full-text. Formerly known as Infotrac Newsstand.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This is your first stop for most literary research. JSTOR contains full-text articles from hundreds of journals in literature, the arts, history, political science, and more.
Legal Collection (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
A great collection of full text legal journals.
Mackin Via (Audiobooks) This link opens in a new window
Access our online audiobooks by logging into MackinVia. You are able to listen to streaming audio from your laptop or cellphone.
Medline (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Access to a good number of journals on human health, genetics, anatomy & physiology, pathology, and veterinary medicine.
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
Great source of published, reliable information on nations, politics, history, and major figures, from Prime Ministers to writers.
NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
Full text access to hundreds of online medical texts on human health, disease, and treatment.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Start here to create your yearlong pass to the full text of the New York Times. Once you enter your email address, the NY Times will send an email verification to your Catlin.edu email account. Confirm, and you are all set!
New York Times Historical (MultCoLib) This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2017.
NoveList Plus (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
A wonderful source of book reviews and author information for avid readers! Use this database to find out the sequence of titles published by an author, read reviews of an author's fiction or nonfiction works, and locate other authors with similar writing styles or plot elements.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Provides current and historical definitions of words. Great for Word of the Day in English!
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A useful, reliable database that provides fully searchable Oxford University Press books on a range of topics, including History. Very helpful for looking up factual, concise information on historical people, places, events, and concepts.
PLOS: Public Library of Science This link opens in a new window
A collection of open access scientific journals on biology, genetics, pathology, botany, etc.
Professional Development Collection (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
Excellent starting point for faculty research in education, with nearly 500 full-text journals.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EbscoHost) This link opens in a new window
A selection of about 400 full-text journals on human development, behavior, addiction, and more.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
Semantic Scholar This link opens in a new window
This new database offers thousands of journal articles in the sciences. Many, but not all, are full-text.
Serials Solutions (MultCoLib) This link opens in a new window
Use this resource to find out which databases provide full-text articles from specific journals.
Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
NEW! Swank is our new streaming video service for classroom use. Teachers and student groups may use Swank for on-campus classroom and events showings, and teachers may share a link to Swank films for students to watch from home. Speak to one of the librarians if you need support in using Swank,

Full A-Z List of Databases

Your US Librarian

Sue Phillips

Email Me

Contact:

Upper School Library

503.297.1894 x4550 (circulation desk); (503)297-1894 x4100 (voicemail)