Fall 2023
LIBRARY HOURS: Mon., Tues. & Thurs: 7:30am-4:30pm;
Wed: 7:30am-3:20pm (afternoon faculty meeting);
Fri: 7:30am-4pm.
CLOSED on non-class days.
CITING A SOURCE MORE THAN ONCE
When you footnote a source more than once on a page, follow these examples:
Michael Pollan, The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals (New York: Penguin, 2006), 100.
Pollan, The Omnivore’s Dilemma, 144.
“Google Privacy Policy,” last modified March 11, 2009, accessed July 13, 2009, http://www.google.com/intl/en/privacypolicy.html.
“Google Privacy Policy.”
Sheryl Gay Stolberg and Robert Pear, “Wary Centrists Posing Challenge in Health Care Vote,” New York Times, February 27, 2010, accessed February 28, 2010, http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/28/us/politics/28health.html.
Stolberg and Pear, “Wary Centrists.”
BOOKS
Books with one author
Note:
1. Michael Pollan, The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals (New York: Penguin, 2006), 99–100.
Author first name Author last name, Title of book (City: Publisher, year), page range.
Bibliography:
Pollan, Michael. The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. New York: Penguin, 2006.
Books with multiple authors
Note:
1. Geoffrey C. Ward and Ken Burns, The War: An Intimate History, 1941–1945 (New York: Knopf, 2007), 52.
Author first name Author last name, and Author first name Author last name, Title of book (City: Publisher, year), page range.
Bibliography:
Ward, Geoffrey C., and Ken Burns. The War: An Intimate History, 1941–1945. New York: Knopf, 2007.
When there are 4 or more authors, list the first author, followed by et al. (this means "and others") in the footnote. When citing a bibliography entry, list all of the authors.
Note:
6. Derek King et al., Teaching Research to Kindergarteners (New York: Oxford University Press, 2020), 58.
Author first name Author last name, et al., Title of Book (City: Publisher, year), page range.
Bibliography:
King, Derek et al. Teaching Research to Kindergarteners. New York: Oxford University Press, 2020.
Book that is an edition other than the first
Note:
2. Sue Phillips, Geeking Out on Research, 3rd ed. (Portland: Penguin, 2019), 23-25.
Author first name Author last name, Title of Book, edition. (City: Publisher, year), page range.
Bibliography:
Phillips, Sue. Geeking Out on Research. 3rd ed. Portland: Penguin, 2019.
Selection in an anthology, or a chapter in a book with an editor
Note:
5. Peter Chilson, "The Border," in The Best American Travel Writing, ed. Noor Benn and Fritz Kaplan (Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 2008), 46.
Chapter author first name Chapter author last name, "Title of chapter or selection," in Title of Book, ed. Editor first name Editor last name and Editor first name Editor last name (City: Publisher, year), page range.
Bibliography:
Chilson, Peter. "The Border." In The Best American Travel Writing. Edited by Noor Benn and Fritz Kaplan, 44-51. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 2008.
Translation
Note:
1. Gabriel García Márquez, Love in the Time of Cholera, trans. Edith Grossman (London: Classic Press, 1988), 242–55.
Author first name Author last name, Title of Book, trans. Translator first name Translator last name (City: Publisher, year), page range.
Bibliography:
García Márquez, Gabriel. Love in the Time of Cholera. Translated by Edith Grossman. London: Classic Press, 1988.
Book with an Editor
Note:
6. Miles Riderwave, Between the Flags: One Hundred Summers of Australian Surf Lifesaving, ed. Samantha Wavecatcher (Sydney: Surfboard Press, 2020), 119.
Author first name Author last name, Title of Book, ed. Editor first name Editor last name (City: Publisher, year), page range.
Bibliography:
Riderwave, Miles. Between the Flags: One Hundred Summers of Australian Surf Lifesaving. Edited by Samantha Wavecatcher. Sydney: Surfboard Press, 2020.
Online Book
Note:
9. Elizabeth Arvidson, Emigration from Sweden: One Family's Tale (Portland: Anchor Press, 2019), 147, accessed November 1, 2019, http://www.textAnchor.com/Emigration/.
Author first name Author last name, Title of Book (City of Publication: Publisher, year), page range, access Month day, year, URL.
Bibliography:
Arvidson, Elizabeth. Emigration from Sweden: One Family's Tale. Portland: Anchor Press, 2019. Accessed November 1, 2019. http://www.textAnchor.com/Emigration/.
Note:
2. Philip B. Kurland and Ralph Lerner, eds., The Founders’ Constitution (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987), accessed February 28, 2010, http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.
If you'd like to cite a section or chapter of an ebook, enter the the section name following the publication info.; do not use page numbers as they might vary depending on the website you are using.
Bibliography:
Kurland, Philip B., and Ralph Lerner, eds. The Founders’ Constitution. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987. Accessed February 28, 2010. http://press-pubs.uchicago.edu/founders/.
Reference book consulted online
NOTE:
4. Encyclopedia Britannica Online, Academic ed., s.v. "Civil War," accessed March 4, 2019, http://academic.eb.com/EBterms/topic/45687/Civil-War.
Title of Source, Edition, s.v. "Title of entry," accessed Month day, year, URL.
NOTE: s.v. stands for "sub verbo," which means "under the word." In other words, the term or phrase you looked up.
7. Dictionary of American History, 3rd ed., s.v. "Freedom Riders," by Sheilah R. Keppen, accessed November 13, 2019, https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3401801608/UHIC?u=catlin&sid=UHIC&xid=4c1b808c.
Title of Source, Edition, s.v. "Title of entry," by Author first name Author last name, accessed Month day, year, URL.
ARTICLES IN JOURNALS & MAGAZINES
Article in a Print Journal
Note:
1. Susan Peck MacDonald and Anna Liu, “The Erasure of Language,” College Composition and Communication 58, no. 4 (2007): 619.
Author first name Author last name and Author first name Author last name, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume, number (year): page.
Bibliography:
MacDonald, Susan Peck and Anna Liu. “The Erasure of Language.” College Composition and Communication 58, no. 4 (2007): 585-625.
Article in a Database
Be sure to use a stable URL or DOI to show where you found the article.
Note:
1. Henry E. Bent, “Professionalization of the Ph.D. Degree,” College Composition and Communication 58, no. 4 (2007): 141, accessed December 5, 2008, http://www.jstor.org/stable/1978286.
Author first name Author last name, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume, number (year): page, accessed Month day, year, stable URL or DOI.
Bibliography:
Bent, Henry E. "Professionalization of the Ph.D. Degree.” College Composition and Communication 58, no. 4 (2007): 0-145. Accessed December 5, 2008. http://www.jstor.org/stable/1978286.
Article in an Online Magazine
Note:
1. Sasha Vlaskos, "Trump Impeachment Hearings Full of Dramatic Moments," Salon, November 11, 2019, http://www.salon.co/politics/headliners/trump_hearing.html.
Author first name Author last name, "Title of article," Title of Magazine, Publication Month day, year, URL.
Bibliography:
Vlaskos, Sasha. "Trump Impeachment Hearings Full of Dramatic Moments." Salon, November 11, 2019. http://www.salon.co/politics/headliners/trump_hearing.html.
Article in a Newspaper
If there is no author, begin with the title of the article. Include the section, but not the page number.
Print
Note:
Mike Royko, “Next Time, Dan, Take Aim at Arnold,” Chicago Tribune, September 23, 1992, sec. G.
Author first name Author last name, "Title of Article," Title of Newspaper, Publication Month day, year, section info.
Bibliography:
Royko, Mike. “Next Time, Dan, Take Aim at Arnold.” Chicago Tribune. September 23, 1992, sec. G.
Online
Note:
2. Sheryl Gay Stolberg and Robert Pear, “Wary Centrists Posing Challenge in Health Care Vote,” New York Times, February 27, 2010, accessed February 28, 2010, http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/28/us/politics/28health.html.
Author first name Author last name and Author first name Author last name, "Title of Article," Title of Newspaper, Publication Month day, year, accessed Month day, year, URL.
Bibliography:
Stolberg, Sheryl Gay, and Robert Pear. “Wary Centrists Posing Challenge in Health Care Vote.” New York Times, February 27, 2010. Accessed February 28, 2010. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/28/us/politics/28health.html.
ENCYCLOPEDIA, REFERENCE, & DICTIONARY
Print (no author):
Note:
4. Encyclopedia Britannica, 15th ed., s.v. “salvation.”
Title of Reference Work, number of edition, s.v. "name of entry."
The abbreviation s.v. stands for sub verbo, or "under the word."
Bibliography
Encyclopedia Britannica, 15th ed. s.v. "salvation."
It is not necessary to cite major, well-known encyclopedias in the Bibliography section.
